PM Modi’s all-party meet with J&K leaders today: List of attendees

PM Narendra Modi is chairing an all-party meeting on Thursday in New Delhi to discuss the prevailing situation in Jammu and Kashmir. Here’s a list of who all will be in attendance.

City Express News 

New Delhi, June,24,2021:For the meeting, the Modi-led government has invited presidents of Jammu and Kashmir’s political parties, former Jammu and Kashmir chief ministers and deputy chief ministers.

All the leaders have been asked to Carry  A Negative RT-PCR  Test In Light Of Covid-19 Pandemic

Here is a list of who all is expected to attend the meeting.


1. Farooq Abdullah: President of National Conference

A stalwart of J&K politics, he has served as the chief minister three times. He was also a Union minister in Dr Manmohan Singh’s Congress goverment.

2. Omar Abdullah: Vice-president of National Conference

Omar Abdullah served as the chief minister of J&K from 2008 to 2014. He was also the Union foreign minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s government from July 2001 to December 2002. The National Conference was part of the National Democratic Alliance at the time.

3. Mehbooba Mufti: People’s Democratic Party president

Mufti became the chief minister of J&K after the death of her father Mufti Mohd Sayeed in 2016. She headed the People’s Democratic Party – Bharatiya Janata Party government in the state. However, she had to resign after BJP withdrew its support to the government in 2019.

4. Ghulam Nabi Azad: Senior Congress leader

Ghulam Nabi Azad was the first chief minister of J&K from Jammu region. He is from Doda district in Jammu division.

Azad headed the Congress-PDP government in the state from 2005 to 2008 as per the rotational power sharing agreement between the two parties. However, he had to resign after PDP withdrew its support to his government over the Amarnath shrine land row in 2008.

Azad is a veteran Congress leader and served as a Union minister in many Congress governments at the centre. He was also the leader of opposition in the Rajya Sabha until he retired as a member of the upper house in February this year.


1. Kavinder Gupta: Senior BJP leader

Kavinder Gupta served as the deputy chief minister of J&K in the PDP-BJP government. He replaced Nirmal Singh as the deputy CM in 2018. He also served as Speaker of the J&K assembly from 2015 to 2018. He was the first BJP leader to hold this position. Gupta is also a former mayor of Jammu city.

2. Nirmal Singh: Senior BJP leader

Dr Nirmal Singh became the deputy chief minister after the 2014 assembly polls. PDP and BJP entered into a post-poll alliance after the 2014 election and he served as deputy CM under Mufti Mohd Sayeed’s goverment. He was replaced by Kavinder Gupta in 2018 and made the Speaker of the J&K assembly.

3. Tara Chand: Senior Congress leader

A prominent Dalit leader from the Congress, Tara Chand served as the deputy CM of J&K from 2009 to 2014 in the National Conference – Congress government headed by Omar Abdullah. He was also the Speaker of the J&K assembly under the Congress-PDP government from 2002 to 2008.

4. Muzaffar Hussain Baig: People’s Conference leader

Muzaffar Hussain Baig, earlier with the PDP, was elected as a Lok Sabha MP from north Kashmir’s Baramulla-Kupwara constituency in 2014. He served as the deputy CM of J&K from 2005 to 2008 in the PDP-Congress government headed by Ghulam Nabi Azad.

He was also conferred with the country’s third highest civilian honour, Padma Bhushan, in 2020. He quit the PDP and joined Sajjad Lone’s People’s Conference earlier this year.


1. Ravinder Raina: J&K BJP president

Ravinder Raina of the BJP was elected to the J&K assembly from Nowshera constituency of Rajouri district in Jammu division in 2014. He was earlier the chief of the BJP’s Yuva Morcha in J&K. He was elevated to the post of J&K BJP chief in 2018.

2. GA Mir: J&K Congress chief

GA Mir is a senior leader of the Congress party from south Kashmir. He is known for taking everyone along.

3. Sajjad Lone: People’s Conference president

Sajjad Lone, son of Kashmiri separatist leader late Abdul Ghani Lone, was elected as MLA from north Kashmir’s Handwara seat after he joined mainstream politics. He also served as a minister in the PDP-BJP government.

4. Altaf Bukhari: J&K Apni Party chief

A former PDP leader, Bukhari was the finance minister of J&K in the PDP-BJP government. However, he later parted ways with the PDP and floated his own party J&K Apni Party in 2020.

5. Mohd Yousuf Tarigami: Senior Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader

Mohd Yousuf Tarigami is the face of left parties in the Kashmir valley. He was elected as MLA from south Kashmir’s Kulgam constituency four times in a row. He is the spokesperson of the Gupkar Alliance.

6. Bhim Singh: Chief patron of J&K Panthers Party

Bhim Singh is the founder of the J&K National Panthers Party. He is a former member of Parliament and ex MLA. He has also been a member of the National Integration Council.


From the central government, home minister Amit Shah and defence minister Rajnath Singh will be in attendance.

Lieutenant Governor of Jammu and Kashmir Manoj Sinha, principal secretary to PM Modi PK Mishra, home secretary Ajay Kumar Bhalla and BJP leader Jitendra Singh will also be there.

There is a possibility that national security advisor Ajit Doval too will be present.

اس خبر پر اپنی رائے کا اظہار کریں

اپنا تبصرہ بھیجیں